UK markets closed
  • FTSE 100

    +18.80 (+0.24%)
  • FTSE 250

    -59.37 (-0.31%)
  • AIM

    +0.38 (+0.05%)

    -0.0076 (-0.65%)

    -0.0065 (-0.52%)
  • Bitcoin GBP

    +860.59 (+1.66%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    +30.78 (+2.34%)
  • S&P 500

    -43.89 (-0.88%)
  • DOW

    +211.02 (+0.56%)

    +0.51 (+0.62%)

    +8.70 (+0.36%)
  • NIKKEI 225

    -1,011.35 (-2.66%)

    -161.73 (-0.99%)
  • DAX

    -100.04 (-0.56%)
  • CAC 40

    -0.85 (-0.01%)

Ariana Grande Scores Sixth No. 1 Album and Launches ‘We Can’t Be Friends (Wait for Your Love)’ to Top of Hot 100

Ariana Grande claims the No. 1 album and single in the United States this week following the highly-anticipated release of her seventh studio effort, “Eternal Sunshine.” The pop singer’s latest full-length easily debuted atop the Billboard 200 with the largest starting sum of the year so far.

The set earned a total of 227,000 units in the latest tracking week (ending March 14), with 195 million on-demand official streams and 77,000 album sales, according to data provided by Luminate. Grande also leads the Hot 100 with her Max Martin-produced “We Can’t Be Friends,” extending Martin’s record for the most Hot 100 No. 1s among producers (25) in the chart’s history.

More from Variety


“We Can’t Be Friends (Wait for Your Love)” earned 33 million streams and 5 million radio airplay audience impressions. Along with its original version released on March 8, the track was made available for purchase in three different variations including a “string version,” an a cappella version and instrumental options.

Multiple songs from “Eternal Sunshine” are scattered across the Hot 100 ranking, including “Ordinary Things” at No. 55, making Grande’s grandmother, Nonna, formally Marjorie Grande, the oldest person to appear on the chart at 98. Nonna is featured in the last 15-20 seconds of the single, relaying an anecdote that notably summarizes the entirety of the love song’s lyrical themes.

The album was preceded by the Madonna-inspired “Yes, And?” which drew 27 million impressions in its first week. It currently sits at No. 10 on the list.

These feats make Grande the first woman artist in history to have two albums produce multiple No. 1 hits; she previously hit the summit with “Thank U, Next’s” eponymous single, and “7 Rings.” This is Grande’s fourth consecutive No. 1 album and sixth overall. She previously reigned with “Positions” (2020), “Thank U, Next” (2019), “Sweetener” (2018), “My Everything” (2014) and “Yours Truly” (2013).

With Grande at No. 1, Morgan Wallen’s “One Thing at a Time” falls to No. 2 and Noah Kahan’s “Stick Season” is at No. 3. Kanye West and Ty Dolla $ign’s “Vultures 1,” which held the title of the biggest debut numbers of the year (148,000 units) before Grande’s entrance, slips to No. 4.

Back on the Hot 100, a fresh face appears at No. 7: Dallas-born artist 4Batz (real name Neko Bennett). He earned his first Hot 100 Top 10 song following an assist from Drake, who claims his record-extending 77th Top 10 single. Following Drake’s remix of 4Batz’s viral “Act II: Date @ 8,” the song lifted from No. 61 to No. 7 with 20 million streams and 8.4 million radio audience impressions. Before the Drake feature, the song had garnered over 80 million Spotify streams since mid-December.

Although his catalog is limited, 4Batz’s unique style — an updated take on dreamy R&B and hip-hop –quickly caught the attention of SZA, Drake and numerous major labels. Only recently did he choose to sign a short-term deal with Drake’s label OVO Sound that will allow him to record at least one EP under the joint venture, according to a recent report from Billboard.

The remaining Top 10 titles on the Hot 100 consist of previous Top Five holders Teddy Swims’ “Lose Control” at No. 2 and Benson Boone’s “Beautiful Things” at No. 3, followed by singles from Ye and Ty, Jack Harlow, Beyoncé, Tate McRae and Zach Bryan with Kacey Musgraves.

March 22 is looking to be a big day for new music releases with Shakira set to drop her new album, “Las Mujeres Ya No Lloran,” which features Cardi B, Rauw Alejandro, Karol G, Grupo Frontera and Tiesto, among others. Meanwhile, Epic Records artist and Grammy winner Tyla is set to share her self-titled debut. Metro Boomin and Future also recently announced the March 22 arrival of their joint record, “We Don’t Trust You.”

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.