UK markets closed

Day Ahead: Top 3 Things to Watch for Jan. 9

Investing.com - Here are 3 things that could rock the markets tomorrow.

1. Job Cuts and Claims Due

Employment data will continue to draw attention tomorrow as Friday’s December payrolls report approaches.

At 7:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT) outplacement firm Challenger reports its December job cuts figures. Layoffs came in at about 44,600 in November.

At 8:30 AM ET the Labor Department will report weekly initial jobless claims.

Claims for first time unemployment are seen edging down to 220,000 for last week, according to economists’ forecasts compiled by Investing.com.

2. Fed Talking Heads Coming Up

There are a bevy of Fed speakers on tomorrow’s docket.

Federal Reserve Board Vice Chairman Richard Clarida will speak at 8:00 AM ET (13:00 GMT) on international economics at the Council of Foreign Relations in New York.

At 9:30 AM ET, Minneapolis Fed President Neel Kashkari will give opening remarks at the 2020 Regional Economic Conditions Conference.

New York Fed President John Williams will be on a Bank of England panel on inflation targeting, which starts at 11:30 AM ET.

And at 1:20 PM ET, Chicago Fed President Charles Evans will be on an economic forecast panel hosted by the Milwaukee Business Journal.

The market is still convinced that this month’s FOMC meeting is a foregone conclusion, pricing in a 90% chance of no change in interest rates, according to Investing.com’s Fed Rate Monitor tool.

3. KB Home Set to Report

The earnings calendar is a bit thin, but there will be more numbers from the homebuilding sector.

KB Home (NYSE:KBH) will report its quarterly numbers tomorrow after the bell.

Analysts are predicting a profit of $1.29 per share with sales of about $1.6 billion

Lennar (NYSE:LEN) reported impressive headline results today, with a jump in new orders.

Related Articles

U.S. stocks higher at close of trade; Dow Jones Industrial Average up 0.56%

New UK industry code aims to prevent Carillion-style crashes

U.S. outlines strong support for self-driving cars at CES