UK Markets open in 6 hrs 48 mins

Vladdy, Semien, Teoscar all win Silver Slugger awards for Blue Jays

·2-min read
Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Teoscar Hernandez had incredible offensive seasons. (Photo by Cole Burston/Getty Images)
Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Teoscar Hernandez had incredible offensive seasons. (Photo by Cole Burston/Getty Images)

The Toronto Blue Jays' explosive offensive season resulted in some major offseason hardware.

Three Blue Jays took home Silver Slugger awards on Thursday as the best offensive players at their positions in the American League: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (first base), Marcus Semien (second base) and Teoscar Hernandez (outfield).

Guerrero Jr. blasted 48 home runs in 2021, which tied him for the most in the majors. He flirted with a Triple Crown, batting .311 with 111 RBIs. That production also made him a finalist for AL MVP.

Semien also played his way into MVP consideration after breaking the major-league record for most home runs by a second baseman in a single season with 45. He appeared in all 162 games and delivered 7.1 WAR for the year. After signing a one-year contract last winter, he's poised to cash in on the open market this time.

Hernandez captured his second consecutive Silver Slugger honour after an under-the-radar brilliant campaign. He slashed .296/.346/.524 with 32 home runs and 116 RBIs. He earned his first all-star berth in 2021 and proved his breakout 2020 season was no fluke.

Toronto had two other finalists for the awards, with shortstop Bo Bichette and outfielder Lourdes Gurriel Jr. falling short in the voting.

Here is the full list of finalists, with winners appearing in bold text:

American League

1B: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (TOR), Yuli Gurriel (HOU), Matt Olson (OAK)

2B: Marcus Semien (TOR), Jose Altuve (HOU), DJ LeMahieu (NYY), Jorge Polanco (MIN)

3B: Rafael Devers (BOS), José Ramírez (CLE), Kyle Seager (SEA)

SS: Xander Bogaerts (BOS), Carlos Correa (HOU), Tim Anderson (CWS), Bo Bichette (TOR)

OF: Cedric Mullins (BAL), Teoscar Hernández (TOR), Aaron Judge (NYY), Kyle Tucker (HOU), Mitch Haniger (SEA), Lourdes Gurriel Jr. (TOR), Hunter Renfroe (BOS), Randy Arozarena (TB)

C: Salvador Perez (KC), Mike Zunino (TB), Gary Sánchez (NYY)

DH: Shohei Ohtani (LAA), Yordan Álvarez (HOU), Giancarlo Stanton (NYY), Joey Gallo (NYY), Nelson Cruz (TB)

National League

1B: Freddie Freeman (ATL), Joey Votto (CIN), Paul Goldschmidt (STL), Max Muncy (LAD)

2B: Ozzie Albies (ATL), Jonathan India (CIN), Jake Cronenworth (SD), Justin Turner (LAD)

3B: Austin Riley (ATL), Manny Machado (SD), Nolan Arenado (STL), Patrick Wisdom (CHC)

SS: Fernando Tatis Jr. (SD), Brandon Crawford (SF), Trea Turner (LAD), Willy Adames (MIL)

OF: Juan Soto (WAS), Nick Castellanos (CIN), Bryce Harper (PHI), Bryan Reynolds (PIT), Adam Duvall (ATL), Jesse Winker (CIN), Tyler O’Neill (STL)

C: Buster Posey (SF), Will Smith (LAD), J.T. Realmuto (PHI), Omar Narváez (MIL)

P: Germán Márquez (COL), Max Fried (ATL), Jacob deGrom (NYM), Madison Bumgarner (AZ)

More from Yahoo Sports

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting