UK markets closed
  • FTSE 100

    +52.48 (+0.69%)
  • FTSE 250

    +299.51 (+1.57%)
  • AIM

    +4.81 (+0.65%)

    -0.0013 (-0.11%)

    +0.0029 (+0.23%)
  • Bitcoin GBP

    -435.62 (-0.88%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    0.00 (0.00%)
  • S&P 500

    +40.81 (+0.80%)
  • DOW

    +90.99 (+0.23%)

    +1.55 (+1.98%)

    +36.90 (+1.80%)
  • NIKKEI 225

    +744.63 (+1.90%)

    +78.00 (+0.47%)
  • DAX

    +56.88 (+0.32%)
  • CAC 40

    +6.74 (+0.09%)

‘Oppenheimer,’ ‘Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse’ Among Advanced Imaging Society Award Winners

Cillian Murphy saluted the “unsung heroes” — the artists, engineers and craftspeople — who make Christopher Nolan’s Oppenheimer, Friday at the Advanced Imaging Society’s 14th Lumiere Awards. Murphy, who stars in the titular role of the Universal film, accepted the Lumiere for best live-action feature for the movie, on behalf of Nolan, Emma Thomas and the “family.”

The Advanced Imaging Society recognizes the intersection of art and technology, and the celebration of all who work on movies was shared throughout the luncheon ceremony, which was held at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

More from The Hollywood Reporter

“Filmmaking is a team game … the best part of this work is that we do it together,” Jeffrey Wright told attendees as he accepted the society’s inaugural Distinguished Artist Award for his performance in American Fiction, which was presented to him by his co-star, John Ortiz.

Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse writers and producers Phil Lord and Chris Miller honored the “artists that bring these moments to life” as they accepted the award for best animated feature, which was presented by their lead voice actress, Hailee Steinfeld.

During the luncheon, the society’s Harold Lloyd Award was presented to The Holdovers director Alexander Payne by the film’s lead, Paul Giamatti, and Suzanne Lloyd, chairman of Harold Lloyd Entertainment. Giamatti, who also starred in Payne’s 2004 film Sideways, recognized the filmmaker’s ability to create “broad comedy balancing deep emotions” and quipped that he was happy to present the award to his “friend and every-20-years director and collaborator.”

Accepting, Payne saluted Lloyd’s work and noted that his protagonists are the “grandchildren” of Lloyd’s protagonists, who “embodied the myth of the everyday American.”

Honored for best international feature, Godzilla Minus One‘s director, writer and VFX supervisor Takashi Yamazaki got laughs as he thanked his “peers and fellow geeks.”

Additional award winners included The Creator, for sound (director Gareth Edwards was on hand to support his team); Barbie, for its use of HDR and original song (“I’m Just Ken”); and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, for 2D to 3D conversion. In the episodic categories, The Last of Us received a pair of awards, for best live action episodic and sound.

The society’s Sir Charles Wheatstone Award was presented to Disney’s research and innovation teams, Disney Research Studios and StudioLAB; and the EARTHDAY.ORG Voices For The Earth Award honored Darren Aronofsky and his producing partners at Sphere Entertainment for their film Postcard from Earth.

The complete list of winners follows:

Best Feature Film – Live Action: Oppenheimer

Best Feature Film – Animated: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Best Feature Film – International: Godzilla Minus One

Best Documentary: 32 Sounds

Best Motion Picture – Musical: Color Purple 

Best Audio – Theatrical: The Creator

Best Audio – Episodic: The Last of Us

Best Original Song: “I’m Just Ken” from Barbie 

Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Feature Film: Barbie

Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Episodic: The Last of Us

Best 2D to 3D Conversion: Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 3

Best Musical Scene or Sequence: “I’m Here” from Color Purple

Best Theatrical Scene or Sequence: Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One 

Best Episodic – Animated: Star Wars: Visions Volume 2

Best Episodic – Live Action: The Last of Us

Innovation in Production Technology Award: Ryff

Heritage Award for Media Preservation: Iron Mountain Media and Archive Services

Sir Charles Wheatstone Award for Creative Excellence in Visual Effects: Walt Disney Studios 

Voices For The Earth Award: Darren Aronofsky and Sphere Entertainment, Postcard from Earth

Distinguished Artist Award: Jeffrey Wright, American Fiction

Harold Lloyd Award: Alexander Payne, The Holdovers

Best of The Hollywood Reporter