UK markets close in 6 hours 13 minutes
  • FTSE 100

    5,844.75
    -15.53 (-0.27%)
     
  • FTSE 250

    18,071.50
    -38.07 (-0.21%)
     
  • AIM

    983.18
    +2.73 (+0.28%)
     
  • GBP/EUR

    1.1054
    +0.0063 (+0.57%)
     
  • GBP/USD

    1.3052
    +0.0014 (+0.11%)
     
  • BTC-GBP

    10,031.03
    +12.60 (+0.13%)
     
  • CMC Crypto 200

    262.76
    +1.30 (+0.50%)
     
  • S&P 500

    3,465.39
    +11.90 (+0.34%)
     
  • DOW

    28,335.57
    -28.13 (-0.10%)
     
  • CRUDE OIL

    38.80
    -1.05 (-2.63%)
     
  • GOLD FUTURES

    1,904.80
    -0.40 (-0.02%)
     
  • NIKKEI 225

    23,494.34
    -22.25 (-0.09%)
     
  • HANG SENG

    24,918.78
    +132.68 (+0.54%)
     
  • DAX

    12,359.67
    -286.08 (-2.26%)
     
  • CAC 40

    4,875.95
    -33.69 (-0.69%)
     

Fuel truck drivers vote for strike in northern England - union

·1-min read
FUEL PROTESTORS RETURN TO THEIR TRUCKS ON THE WESTWAY.
FUEL PROTESTORS RETURN TO THEIR TRUCKS ON THE WESTWAY.

LONDON (Reuters) - Hoyer Petrolog fuel truck drivers based in the north of England have voted overwhelmingly in favour of 14-day strike action in November, Britain's Unite union said on Friday.

"The strikes will cause considerable disruption to fuel supplies for road users and the aviation sector in northern England," Unite said.

It was not entirely clear what operations the strikes would affect.

Unite said the drivers were based at Essar's Stanlow refinery.

But the owner, Essar Oil UK, denied that drivers were based there and added refinery operations and availability of transport fuels were not affected.

When contacted again, Unite insisted drivers were loading fuels at Stanlow.

Unite announced strike action on Nov. 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 23, 25 and 27.

All of the strikes will begin at 0001 BST (2301 GMT) and end at 2359 BST (2259 GMT).

(Reporting by Ahmad Ghaddar; Editing by David Goodman, Louise Heavens and Catherine Evans)